So, you think the EvE UI is too complicated…

In almost 4 years of being a capsuleer I can’t even begin to recollect how many times I’ve heard other capsuleers complain about their ship’s interface system. Many go on for far longer than I wish they would about the inadequacies of the UI. They lament everything about it from local channels to the market display to the overview window. “It’s way to complicated to effectively pilot a ship in combat,” they claim.

Let’s see about that. Here is my tactical display setup.

Granted, I have a double monitor setup giving my a very nice width that I most certainly take full advantage of. However, it breaks into two groups practically down the middle. Information is on the right and visuals are on the left. I’ll also grant that it gets a whole lot busier when the engagement has a few hundred (or thousand) combatants and drones. Buy that’s what filters are for. If you look, I have five filters arrayed as tabs. It lets me quickly focus on the most dangerous threats whether they be wormholers or ‘roids.

Now let’s contrast this with some other UI’s that are available in this world.

F-14 front…
… AND back (it takes two!)

F-15 Eagle
F-16 Falcon
F-18 Hornet
F-22 Raptor
X-29 Experimental

And the coup-de-grace and interestingly enough my personal favorite:

The Chinese Chengdu J-20!
These all look far more complicated than my EvE UI and I haven’t even shown the MiGs! I’d say that flying an airplane requires a lot of information right at the pilot’s fingers. After all, if it were easy, anyone could do  it. We all know that isn’t so.
So why do capsuleers think they should have it any easier? Whenever I hear one complaining about the overview, I’d like to hit their eject button and send them right out the top of the canopy. Let’s get one thing straight: there’s nothing so intense and demanding in human experience as the three dimensional aerial dual. No amount of nip and tuck of the UI will change that. If you can’t master the fire you will surely die in it. That’s life and death in the air – and in space. Get used to it or move on.
Fly careful.

2 comments on “So, you think the EvE UI is too complicated…

Comments are closed.