Mabrick’s Link Stew: the pay-to-win myth and Dust 514 launches next month.

The Soapbox: There’s no such thing as pay-to-win

In the beginning, way back in the ancient days of the 1990’s, I made a determination that I was ardently against what has become known as pay-to-win. To my way of thinking, allowing people to buy their way to l33t status was an affront to everything Pin Ball Wizard taught me as a boy. But then I got older. I put some experience under my belt (as well as a few pounds.) What experience taught me is you can’t buy competence. It is as integral a part of character as honesty or trustworthiness. So I have to agree with Beau Hindman in this article. There is no such thing as pay-to-win. There is only pay-to-fail if you must hang a name on it. So let them spend their money and enrich CCP’s coffers. It won’t make Eve Online any less of a challenge and it might just allow the creation of more Eve Online, like the Jovian Expansion we all long to see.

We are not here to win a popularity contest.

I like CCP Ytterbium. I like his handle. I like what he does for our beloved game. And I like that fact that he can tell whiny Eve Players to HTFU and make it sound like pep talk! I stand up and applaud CCP Ytterbium’s reply to Lili Lu and all those other players who object to the ship re-balancing currently going on in Eve Online. Damn straight CCP Ytterbium should do what’s best for Eve Online in the long haul. You may think as an Eve player that you know what is best for the game. I don’t think you do. You are inherently biased and in the wrong way. CCP Ytterbium is also inherently biased but in the right way. It is his job. His future depends on getting it right. I’ll take his opinion over any Eve Player any day of the week if for no other reason than that. Thank you for setting us straight CCP Ytterbium. Keep up the good work.

Iceland Taps Hollywood for Next Steps in Recovery

This is not an article about Eve Online. However, Hilmar Petursson was quoted and I liked what he said. To wit,

“Small communities like Iceland offer unique opportunities for those working in the creative arts. People are more likely to mix and match with others that aren’t necessarily in their social class or may have completely different backgrounds.”

Now isn’t that exactly what Eve Online is about? It makes me wonder if Eve Online could have prospered in any other sort of environment. Does where a game get made impact the sort of game it becomes? I ask this because people write games. Cultural environment affects these people and shapes who they are and how they relate to the world as a whole. This cannot fail to seep into the work these people create. Their values and life experience become the framework we fill in as players. We like to discuss the merits of emergent game play but emergent doesn’t mean out of the sand box. The sand will always conform to the shape of the box no matter the shape of the castle you create in it. That box is the framework determined by those who give of themselves to create Eve Online. Knowing that, I wonder what sort of game Dust 514 will become and, more importantly to me, how that will change the creative environment within CCP.

Dust 514 vs EVE Online: when worlds collide.

To date, this article is the most comprehensive comparison of how Eve Online and Dust 514 will interact in a real sense that I’ve read. It is an excellent read and I feel Dave Cook, along with studio technical director Richard Smith, did an excellent job relaying how it’s all supposed to work.  It also convinces me that all the development in Eve Online for at least the past 18 months has not been about Eve Online. When the article discusses “a place to call home” I think, Incarna was never about Eve Online. When I read, “During our beta testing we’ve been doing work on our weapon classes to make sure that no one class is more powerful than others, because we want to make sure that there’s no one perfect thing that everyone gravitates towards,” I think, I’ve never read a more perfect explanation for why CCP launched it’s ship rebalancing when it did and why it will mostly be ready come the winter expansion. Oh, and if you haven’t heard yet, Dust 514 will launch next month – unofficially. You can read about it here.

Dreams of Yasur

If you have not watched this video, just do it. Do it at the highest resolution you can manage. Listen to it with headphones on. Turn the lights off. Don’t let the real world distract you. If you can do this at work, by all means do so. It will be the best 8 minute break you’ve ever taken. If it doesn’t leave a lump in your throat…

Fly Careful

4 comments on “Mabrick’s Link Stew: the pay-to-win myth and Dust 514 launches next month.

  1. “This was about what CCP Ytterbium said, not your paranoid fear of CCP suddenly becoming a profit-hungry greedy corporation.”

    No Mabrick, I'm not afraid of them _becoming_ anything — I'm pointing out that _they already ARE_, which's a grosser point that a lot of people seem to miss time and again, despite the fact that it should be blatantly obvious: CCP is a business out to make money, the moar the better… _not_ be “starving arteests” of game design with strange avant garde notions of what an MMO “ought” to be, plugging away for the sheer “art” of it all.

    I'm sure DUST will have some unprecedented and HIGHLY unexpected (and very probably unintended!) consequences of its going live with EVE — after all, the marrying of an FPS and an MMORTS is itself pretty unprecedented. And CCP being :CCP:, thus Kings of Unintended (but fairly obvious were common sense applied times 5 seconds) Consequences, we'll see lots of fun :CCPNerfSledgehammering: going on.

    In the end, though, sorry, but your post did (and on second read yep, still does) reek of Yb-fanboi-ism. Ok so maybe calling the proctologist was a bit much, how bout a half-gallon of K-Y Jelly instead? 😉

    For the record, though…the only reason I write about, let alone PLAY EVE, is the simple fact that there's no other MMO like it. If there was another “hardcore spaceships MMO” like EVE 1.0 to go live (and in a workable, playable way) tomorrow, I'd roll up the blog and unsub the accounts faster than you can say jumpjump!

    Like

  2. Hong, by what twisted sort of logic does CCP Ytterbium having and inherent bias as an individual with a job to do directly translate to some rant about CCP making money? Get a grip on yourself man. This was about what CCP Ytterbium said, not your paranoid fear of CCP suddenly becoming a profit-hungry greedy corporation. And did I not point out later that “Incarna was never about Eve Online.” I fairly well said as much at the time.

    http://mabricksmumblings.blogspot.com/2011/06/well-now-gasoline-has-hit-fire-hasnt-it.html

    I also stated in the above post I wondered what Dust 514 would do to the creative environment for Eve. Were you so caught up in your rant you completely missed the implication there? I'll spell it out, I fear it will be BAD as in NOT GOOD.

    Did I also not say the ship re-balance goes hand in glove with the weapons balancing in the Dust 514 beta? Was the implication not strong enough there either?

    And I need to get MY head out? Really?

    Like

  3. “You may think as an Eve player that you know what is best for the game. I don't think you do. You are inherently biased and in the wrong way. CCP Ytterbium is also inherently biased but in the right way. It is his job. His future depends on getting it right. I'll take his opinion over any Eve Player any day of the week if for no other reason than that.”

    lol — NO. A thousand times NO. Firstly, CCP_anybody is biased in ONE way, and that's making money, both to expand the capital base AND line the coffers of CCP's chief investors, AND provide a nice enticement for anyone interested in the potential IPO that's been talked about time and again. Note I deliberately say “making money”, NOT specifically “increasing subs”.

    If CCP had its fingers on the carotid pulse of its players and potential player base as you so blithely assume it does, there'd be no need for the CSM. The Incarna Summer of Raeg! would not have happened. Nor would the previous debacle that led to the creation of the CSM in the first place!

    The moment you forget that CCP is a BUSINESS and thus its #1 motivators are expanding its capital base and making profits, and erroneously assume that they're in it “for the love of the game” is when you start writing “welcum owr new FPS overloards!” dreck like this.

    Most times, I like your writing, but right now I'm going to do you a favor and call a proctologist — you'll need his help removing your head from Yb's posterior cavity. Just saying. 😉

    Like

Comments are closed.