Video

AC4: Naval contracts, shark hunting and roaming Havana.

I was able to dedicate a couple of hours to Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag (AC4) last night. I streamed the entire session on Twitch.TV. You can see the highlights on my Twitch.TV page or on the AC4 videos page of this blog. I have three new videos posted. The longest is just under seven minutes and shows my completion of the naval contract Protect the Neptuno. Then there is a three and a half-minute video on bull shark hunting and a very short one minute waltz with some manuscript guards in Havana. And guess what? I’m not going to embed them here! Hooray! Right?

How’s that? If you hadn’t noticed, I was able to figure out how to link my Twitch.TV stream and YouTube archives into WordPress.com pages that automatically update as I stream or add videos to my YouTube archive. I’ve also discovered you can import just the highlights from Twitch.TV into YouTube now, or maybe it was always that way – don’t know. But I don’t have to suck an entire two-hour session into YouTube that assuredly no one will watch because… TWO HOURS! I feel ya. Secondly, I don’t need to fill a lot of space on my front page with embedded videos now. I just have to link them. I’ll save the embedding for the really good stuff. But for average game play, highlights and automatically updating pages are good.

So what about last night’s game play? I found the Protect the Neptuno mission to be engaging and pleasantly difficult. It took me five attempts to get it right. It was exhilarating as well as challenging and that is what makes a mission fun. In fact, I am not even going to call the video a spoiler. You may know what’s coming after watching it, but you will still need to captain the Jackdaw with skill and tenacity to complete the mission. I wish all quests/missions were that way. Anyhow, after that mission, I was able to almost completely upgrade my long-boat in one pass. The only thing I couldn’t afford was the last harpoon storage upgrade. I’d not made any upgrades to the long-boat previously as I was putting everything I made into the Jackdaw. 😀

Of course, I had to try out the newly refit long-boat right away. I went after a couple of bull sharks. That was not as challenging as the mission had been, but it was still fun. I am certain hammerhead and whale hunting will provide more excitement. Actually, the most excitement I’ve had hunting recently was the session before this last. The one I didn’t bother to record. I was cleaning up some unfinished business at some locations I’d raced through in the beginning, and ran into a jaguar not once but twice. Let me tell you, when a cat that large drops out of a tree on your head it gets your attention. And wow does that cat shred leather armor fast! The first attack I was dead before I could even get my swords drawn. Ouch! o_O

After the hunting, I decided I’d head to Havana and work on completing events in that town. I ended up spending well over an hour chasing sea shanties, finding chests and assassinating “bad” guys. It was too long. I was so tired during the last 30 minutes (it was late) I barely had enough coordination to climb a wall. I just got sloppier and sloppier. The last thing I attempted was a warehouse raid. I was so clumsy in trying to get the key I looked like a drunkard. It was like tripping on my own shoelace and falling into the guillotine. With my coordination shot, and my eyes blurry, the half-dozen warehouse guards took turns kicking the stuffing out of me before forcing me to run – where I misjudged a jump and fell to my death. That’s embarrassing. ^^’

Yeah, not such a great end to an evening that started out so well. I think I should limit myself to an hour of AC4 at a time. The game really does require more manual dexterity and alertness than many others do. Yet it manages to not be a twitch game. It’s not fast reflexes that will save you, but correct reactions done at the proper time. I suppose that’s why I like it so much. I just hope I can finish it before Assassin’s Creed V: Unity releases on October 28th. And back to that comment about embedding only the really good stuff, check out Unity’s trailer – O… M… G.