To Dres and Back Again

Not long ago the incredibly brilliant Kerbal computer scientist Dr. McCarthy Kerman came to me with a proposal. “We need to map Jebediah Kerman’s neural pathways into a completely self-contained artificial intelligence capsule with a bitchin’ huge eye on top. All we need to do is send a mission to Dres for some additional information. Then we will be able to complete MechaJeb.”

“Sounds fascinating,” I said. “Why Dres?”

“There’s just something about that dwarf planet…” was all he said as he gazed off into a distance that wasn’t there in my less than spacious office in the administration building.

I halted that ominous gaze quickly with, “Sounds good. The eye’s a nice touch. Start planning the mission right away. Finish the kerbisynchronous communication satellite upgrades first. Change the name to MechJeb. The other is too much like MechaHitler.”

“Roger, ” was all he said as he wheeled and practically raced out of my office.

“Like a kid in a candy shop,” I muttered to myself.

It took nearly five years to complete the mission. But McCarthy was able to pull it off, and upgrade the communications satellites as well!

(Click on the first image and follow the whole story in the descriptions.)