The Vanishing of Ethan Carter – Total Spoiler

Even while I was sick over the weekend, I still couldn’t get The Vanishing of Ethan Carter out of my mind. There is this special place where a computer game and a compelling story intersect that always does this to me. It is a rare thing to be certain, but it does happen from time to time. And it is awesome. It’s one of the reasons I’m hoping The Astronauts establish this as their style, because frankly I don’t see anyone else doing the point and click adventure quite this well any more.

But this has to be the last time I blog about it. For one, you deserve fresher content. Secondly, I have to get it out of my mind eventually. But before I do that, I’d like you to understand why I’m having such a hard time purging The Vanishing of Ethan Carter from my thoughts. I said previously it was because I really came to care about Ethan Carter. To be more specific, I see some of myself in Ethan Carter. The kid appeals to my id, more than my ego wants to accept. But there it is nonetheless. And my super-ego is outraged at what happened.

To understand that last bit, you can look here, or you can watch the ending of the story unfold. Below the cut line is a video you can only access if you know the URL. As I am the only one with said URL, you can only get it here. DO NOT click on the cut if you don’t want to know what happens. Getting to this scene is a tremendous part of the impact the game has, and watching it will most certainly ruin certain aspects of playing the game. But if you have no intention of ever playing The Vanishing of Ethan Carter, or don’t mind total spoilers, give it a watch. This is what happens when good storytelling and computer gaming come together.