BLEAE THUA NG-Y D45 5

GSE2 – All These Worlds are Yours

What a week it’s been! I’ve added fourteen new star systems to my video catalog and that’s only about half of the systems I visited. When I got to within a few hundred light years of my target system, I just had to get there. I knew I wouldn’t be the first. It’s that sort of system. But I had to see it for myself, so to quote an ancient saying I put the pedal to the metal.

Of all these systems three stand out in my mind, and they aren’t the systems where I found life. Those two systems are BLEAE THUA OQ-P C5-0 and BLEAE THUA TQ-W B15-2. Both have life-bearing gas giants, one harboring water-based life and the other ammonia-based algae. It’s getting to be a week doesn’t go by where I don’t find life. That’s reassuring in the same way a thousand years ago people understood radically increasing the carbon dioxide in the Earth’s atmosphere would be bad for humanity, but life would go on no matter how bad it got. Life finds a way even when mankind can’t.

No, the most interesting places this week were all high metal content systems. It surprised me to find so much metal being way out between galactic arms as I am. I thought metal would become more rare, having been attracted and bound to the spiral arms by the Milky Way’s magnetic field. Though it is true stars have become rarefied, they still seem to shepherd the normal amount of metal containing worlds.

The first system I encountered this week with lots of lovely high metal content worlds was BLEAE THUA NG-Y D45. It is an A type hot white star with six beautiful nuggets. One of these was so blue I thought for certain it’d be a terraforming candidate. At only -45 degrees Celsius it wouldn’t be too cold, and it had a mass about equivalent to Mars. It even has a large moon like Earth. But alas, the surface scanner said no way. It must be all that nitrogen it has as an atmosphere.

The next system rich with metal was the binary system BLEAE THUA BO-R B18-2. It also has six planets; all of them high metal content worlds. When I took my first look at these worlds before getting close enough for a surface scan I was convinced none of them would be terraforming candidates. But the surface scanner once again rubbed my nose in it. The fifth planet, which is even smaller and colder than the one I thought would be a candidate in BLEAE THUA NG-Y D45, can be terraformed. Sometimes I wonder if my surface scanner is smoking. That world has 1.0% sulphur dioxide in its atmosphere. The smell would be intolerable!

The last heavy metal system contains five stars and seven noteworthy planets. All seven of them orbit the main K type star of this Evans third hierarchy system. None of the other stars have planets of their own, not even the other K type star. The cream of the crop in this system is BLEAE THUA IG-F C11-10 A 1. It’s a rare metal rich planet that should be worth a very nice finders fee when I get back. The fact I was the first human to ever lay a surface scanner on it is just icing on the cake.

Now I sit one system out from my first goal. It’ll take a long time to survey it. I’ll have to survey with a few things I’ve never dealt with before. It’ll be interesting, and probably dangerous. I’m going to get a really good night’s rest before I jump into it. As I said, I know I won’t be the first surveyor to visit, but I still have no idea what to expect aside what’s been known about the system for the last millennium. But before I go, I’ll leave you with the rest of the interesting planets from the last notable fourteen star systems – all 21 of them. Enjoy the pictures, and if you’d like to see them dynamically you can always check them out in my video catalog. I’m up to 75 notable star systems and I’m adding more every week. So, until next week, fly careful.