Ranked Battle Selection

Fleet Friday: Ranked Battles et al

Yesterday World of Warships left closed beta and launched into general release. There were no updates to ship capabilities. The game was not drastically updated. Only two things of note were different.

First, there was one premium ship release, the Tirpitz.

Tirpitz Initial Pricing

It’s a nice ship. I don’t think it’s worth $64.99 in it’s base offering. Still, I wouldn’t turn it down if someone gave it to me. It has excellent armor and good 15″ guns. It also comes with torpedoes that have a 6 kilometer range. Don’t try to brawl with a Tirpitz, but otherwise the torpedoes are useless on a ship with a 16.4 kilometer detection range.

I was streaming Wednesday night and had a visitor. I know, I was shocked too. He asked if World of Warships was pay to win. No, it isn’t. The premium ships are perhaps slightly better than their same tier counterparts, but not enough to make up for bad game play. Purchasing a premium ship is like going straight into a fully upgraded standard ship. And from what I’ve seen, some people are worse off for it. You need to learn how to fight a ship in order to win, and by taking a shortcut straight into a premium ship some people skip over the learning process. They’d have been better off sticking with the program and becoming a better player.

Second, Ranked Battles became an option. Previously we had only had Co-op Battles (PvE) and Random Battles (PvP.) With Ranked Battles, PvP gets a twist. The fleets are capped at seven ships each, restricted to tier VI and tier VII. Only one carrier and two battleships are allowed per fleet. From what I saw,  The fleets are well matched, and destroyers did not outnumber cruisers in any of the three Ranked Battles in which I participated. All games are domination style. In that there is a difference between Random Battles domination mode and Ranked Battle domination mode. The capture points are closer together as shown in this annotated screen capture.

New Dawn Ranked Battle Changes

This is significant. Almost all ships involved can range the next capture point from the previous. It means you can capture an end point while laying down suppression fire on the center. It makes Cap Point B even more dangerous. It also means battleships can hit just about anyone from anywhere within the capture point areas. Since the fleet sizes are smaller, the battles don’t last as long – less than 15 minutes. For a taste of what they’re like, and the rewards you get for moving up the ranks, you can watch my second and third ranked battles on my YouTube channel.

Overall, I am doing okay playing world of warships. As before, here are my current statistics pages.

My Victories/Battles result is stubbornly staying in the upper forty percentile. This even though my Kill/Death Ratio has increased to 1.26 denoting I am sinking 1.26 ships for every time I am sunk. This is an increase of 0.15 over the last time I posted my stats, so I am at least surviving more battles. But that doesn’t necessarily mean I am getting better. I could run away to a corner and get similar results.

My hit ratio, a measure of my accuracy, went down 1 percent. But this could be due to other things as well, like taking blind shots. This isn’t a bad thing to do in the proper circumstances. I nailed an undetected Farragut with a devastating strike last night with a blind shot. He’d been detected a couple of times and I took an educated guess on where he was heading. It paid off.

I am doing more damage per battle, increasing that measure by 1,398 points dealt from my last report. But I am also going up in tier and gun diameter. They inherently do more damage. There is only one caveat to that dismissal. Six inch guns are rapid firing and to more fire damage from high explosive use, so the fact my average is increasing seems to indicate I’m doing better. When held up next to my increased Kill/Death Ration, perhaps I am getting better.

Perhaps the best indicator of that is my Average Experience per Battle. It has increased from a mediocre 899 to a less mediocre 1108 – an increase of 23.2 percent. That also translates into a higher Warships Destroyed average, which is the raw calculation of ships sank win, lose or draw. Those are good statistics to see increase.

In the end, I have concluded I am getting marginally better. I suppose that’s all one can hope for. I didn’t make it easier on myself by electing the U.S. cruiser and battleship trees first. I could have boosted my scores if I’d started with Japanese destroyers for example. With their low detection range and long torpedo ranges, I think anyone who plays World of Warships can deny they do better than most ship classes. It is why they are so popular. One of these days I need to do a little research and see if those players do indeed have better numbers, or if my perception is misguided. The poor Farragut captain I took out with a single shell last night would likely think the latter. But then again, he’s not playing a Japanese destroyer. What do you think? Do Japanese destroyers have an easier time with increasing their statistics? Let me know in the comments, and thanks for reading my blog!

2 comments on “Fleet Friday: Ranked Battles et al

  1. For pre-rebalance IJN dessies, you might be right. The t4 Isokaze and t5 Minekaze were a godsend, high torp range, short reload made them deadly. Their guns on the other hand were slow and weak. The t6 Mutsuki is kind of a total letdown. Same bad guns, shorter torp range until you upgrade it for like 15k xp, about double the reload time. They are like paper, easy to damage, both the hull and the modules (mostly the engine and steering gear) and USN cruisers/dessies have the gun reload to easily dispatch them even if half their shots miss. The higher tier IJN dessies have even slower torp reload, so even harder to do successful sniping launches and riskier to do kamikaze charges.

    Like

    • I didn’t realize the torp reload time went up in the higher tier IJN DDs. That’s like going from the Cleveland that rains hell fire to the Pensacola that doesn’t. Ouch.

      Like

Comments are closed.